Welcome to Felixstowe Scribblers

Wednesday, August 01, 2007

The Debut Dagger Bulletin

Debut Dagger Bulletin No. 10


ALLAN GUTHRIE has won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year for Two Way Split. This first saw the light as his entry in the 2001 Debut Dagger, the Crime Writers' Association (CWA) award for unpublished writers of crime fiction. Then called Blithe Psychopaths, it was credited to Allan under his real name of Allan Buchan and was shortlisted for the prize. Allan beat Mike Jecks, who was the 2001 Debut Dagger organiser.

The 2001 runner up, EDWIN THOMAS, was very highly commended by the judges for his excellent entry, The Blighted Cliffs. He too now has a successful career writing both as Edwin Thomas and Tom Harper, and was Chair of the Debut Dagger from 2005 – 2006.

By the autumn of this year, the 2001 Debut Dagger will have seen five of the shortlisted authors published: ADRIAN MAGSON is published by Crème de la Crime, DIANE JANES, who was shortlisted in 2001 and Highly Commended for the 2006 Debut Dagger, had her true crime text published in June 2007.

2001 Debut Dagger winner EDWARD WRIGHT has now won two further awards for his writing: the Shamus Award for best PI novel, and the CWA Ellis Peters Award in 2006 for Red Sky Lament.
The winning Debut Dagger entry for 2007, The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, is now online.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Felixstowe Scribblers Weblog Feed