Welcome to Felixstowe Scribblers

Saturday, September 05, 2009



Is on Tuesday 15th September at 7.30 pm in the Room at the Top, Felixstowe Library. This will be our anonymous competition for attending writers for the Bill Budner Trophy. Maximum 1,000 words on any subject. The entries should not be marked with any identifying name. Here is some information about Bill together with the rules for the evening. This competition has been held seven times so far with a different winner on each occasion.

The Bill Budner Trophy

Bill joined Felixstowe Scribblers in August of 2005 and soon afterwards registered with our online group. A really friendly and popular character, Bill made many friends at Scribblers in such a short time. His tremendous passion for writing produced many prolific words in his short stories, his mild manner and quiet voice accentuating every facet of his work.
Away from Scribblers Bill was a lay preacher and heavily involved with church affairs at St Mary's in Walton where he took over the responsibility for the parish magazine.
Bill died suddenly from a massive heart attack on Tuesday 14th February 2006 leaving his wife Maureen and family deep in shock and mourning his loss, the Felixstowe Scribblers sharing their grief.
Maureen sponsored two successful writing competitions for adults and children in his memory whilst a trophy, purchased from the donation of her prize money from Belinda Janz, has become a regular and revered part of the Scribblers programme. This is run as an anonymous competition with the guidelines for The Bill Budner Trophy as follows:
 Short stories or poetry up to a maximum of 1,000 words on any topic.
 Work must be typed (on single sides of paper).
 Entries must be completed before arrival at the meeting.
 Work must be anonymous - so no names or identification marks on the paper.
 All work will be placed, face down, on a table, and each writer, at a given time, will collect one entry and have a short time to familiarize themselves with it.
 The stories will then be read out to the group with everyone present marking them and selecting their top three entries.
 At the end of the evening all the marks will be entered anonymously into a box and then counted by designated members of the group.
 The winner will be announced and The Bill Budner Trophy presented to them by the previous winner.
 The trophy will be engraved by Scott at Mr Cobbler in Felixstowe.
 The trophy will be held for four months(or as decided) until the next competition
 The holder undertakes to return the trophy to Felixstowe Scribblers and advise any change of address.
Previous winners have been: Tony Shearman, Rosie Woolley, Morag Clarke, Dick Bradshaw, Ruth Dugdall, Barry Darnell and Dave Feakes.
Good Luck to everyone and remember –
Keep Scribbling!


Post a Comment

<< Home

Felixstowe Scribblers Weblog Feed